My Top 10 : My Favorite Slow Rock Songs

The scenes of 70’s until early 90’s were enormously fruitful period for rock music heroes, with so many rock albums and songs become the king of charts. One pattern that is easily recognized, most rock bands always manage to include slower but still on the verge of hard rock songs – popularly known as ‘slow rock’

In my country Indonesia, slow rock songs are incredibly popular, perhaps due to Malay culture that naturally engaged a lot with slow music and melodic notes. One example, people here fashionably know “More Than Words” song with its sweet and gently acoustic guitar melodies but they mostly don’t know that Extreme is actually a funk-metal band anyway with 95% of their catalogues are hard rock, funk-metal.

Here I would like my favorite slow rock songs ever:

1. POISON Every Rose Has Its Thorn

From all those songs in the list, I will say this is the best. the most beautiful, from the lyric, the verse and the chorus, and the lyric Bret Michaels masculine, American, and deep tenor voice suit this sentimental song with its reflective lyric about human especially women 🙂


2. SKID ROW I Remember You
Sebastian Bach at its best. A typical ideal rock ballad begin with acoustic intro and melodic notes then goes into a high voltage rock with out-of-this-world chorus screaming that can sting your soul.

3. STEELHEART I’ll Never Let You Go
Everybody talks about She’s Gone with incredible voice by Milenko Matijevic, but my cards are on this beautiful epic ballad. I can’t stop a tear listening to this

4. SCORPIONS Holiday
Klaus Meine’s young voice is very deep and misty, but those what made this epic song so gorgeous. The build-up in the arrangement started with haunting verses then burst up into a full frontal guitar rock songs. This song is very popular in my country.

5. NAZARETH Love Hurt
There’s nothing can beat the ‘total commitment’ Dan McCafferty put into a love song like this. It is perhaps one of the best vocal performance ever in music history.

6. AEROSMITH Angel
When Joe Perry melodious guitar touches marry with Steven Tyler soulful voice, this is what we get. This band creates a lot of great slow rock tunes, but I really love this one

7. JOURNEY Faithfully
Steve Perry to me is the best vocalist in the world. His soulful, soaring vocal color this sweet love slow-rock song tells us about love faithful. Tender piano-driven verses with melodic guitar solo in the middle ends with a supersonic high-octave vocal outro by Perry.

8. MOTLEY CRUE Home Sweet Home
This song always carries the best of memories about home, whether it is hometown, home where we were grown as a kid, home where my parents are, and anything lovely about something attached to our live so much.

9. LYNYRD SKYNYRD Freebird
This is the best marriage between slow rock and hard rock. A moment of romanticism and sadness on the verse and chorus, topped by over the top and super brilliant trio guitar solos to make this song span 10 minutes long

10.RUSH Closer to the Heart
My most favorite band, and one of my favorite song from them. So this is Rush with the song that its title might deceive you (hey, it’s not a love song 🙂 )

One thought on “My Top 10 : My Favorite Slow Rock Songs

  1. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

