My Diary : Tales from Train Journey Bandung – Jakarta / Naik Kereta Api Bandung – Jakarta

As opposed to my recent urban commuter train experiences, in this space I would like to share the moments during train journey from town to town, that is from Bandung (West Java) to Jakarta, capital of Indonesia.

For full photo gallery, please see gallery below this article

This story starts from Hall Railway Station, Bandung, West Java under a clear summery sky on Sunday 5th of January 2013. I purchased ticket for Executive Class, Argo Parahyangan Train that cost me IDR 90.000 (around US$ 8). As seen in the photo below, the train is quite nice and comfortable that one could sleep peacefully a 3-hours journey.

Bandung City Hall Railway Station.. Time stood still at 09.25 AM in the morning when I took this photo

Bandung City Hall Railway Station.. Time stood still at 09.25 AM in the morning when I took this photo

But as it has always to do with my behavior on a train journey, I almost never spent life on the seat as I elected to stand between the compartment doors to take pictures. Certainly that day’s inviting-weather courtesy of clear blue sky, white clouds, and warming sunshine at the day provided me a steady platform to take as much pictures as I can, even if them are taken through window glasses and just taken with mobile-phone camera

Door between the compartment where I spent the majority of time during my travel capturing scenes :)

Door between the compartment where I spent the majority of time during my travel capturing scenes πŸ™‚

The surrounding Inside the train...you can see the seats rows

The surrounding Inside the train…you can see the seats rows

I choose not to write many paragraphs, instead my post rely on the story on each pictures that I captured consecutively during my travel. Moreover, I also decide to put pictures on a vertical display with medium size to give an ease for viewers to grab meaning of every stills I have posted here and also to make them as a timeline story. Risk is that the size of this post is very long that one need to scroll down a lot, but I as I stated above it is more useful to present them like this as you can check some pictures and leave the rest into a pictures gallery down under this very article.

1. Bandung – Cimahi – Padalarang
(click the image to see larger size)
The first part of the journey is from Bandung to Padalarang, a small city in the edge of Parahyangan Valley

Cimahi Residence as seen from the train

Cimahi Residence as seen from the train

Cimindi flyover in Cimahi... it was a hell of traffic before the fly over was built, as there is also a market in this place

Cimindi flyover in Cimahi… it was a hell of traffic before the fly over was built, as there is also a market in this place


The train departure at 09.38 AM, 8 minutes late from the scheduled time. It moves slowly on the first 500 m, then the engine finally started to roar if I could hear from the window as the train accelerate.

Well, without doubt I just put my bag on the shelf above my chair and enjoy the seat for a fine 5 minutes. After that, it’s a show time for my mobile camera. I went to the door between the compartments which have glass windows, in where I can see the scenes. Actually I could take pic from the window on my seat, but it means that I could only take pictures from one side of the journey only which of course doesn’t connect to my excitement πŸ™‚

(click the image to see larger size)

Enter Padalarang, a small town bordering Parahyangan Valley with the mountains...

Enter Padalarang, a small town bordering Parahyangan Valley with the mountains…

The lush rice fields in Padalarang, the season of growing has just started

The lush rice fields in Padalarang, the season of growing has just started

Enter Padalarang Railway Station

Enter Padalarang Railway Station

Green

Green

2. Padalarang – Jatiluhur – Purwakarta
(click the image to see larger size)
The second chapter, perhaps the most exciting part of this travel, in which the green valley and hills, silver mountain faraway, steady trees, plus the weather harmoniously presented me beautiful spectacle of Parahyangan Land.

Cipularang Motorway bridge above the green valley of Padalarang

Cipularang Motorway bridge above the green valley of Padalarang

After leaving Padalarang Station, the train began to slow down as the land become waving as we left Bandung / Parahyangan Valley and entered the hills of Padalarang. Plenty of valleys and rivers decorate my magnificent train journey as can bee seen through my pictures below

Don't see below or you're going to get heart attack :)

Don’t see below or you’re going to get heart attack πŸ™‚

Train crossing the bridge...I have fun taking this photo

Train crossing the bridge…I have fun taking this photo

One noticeable advantage taking pictures at this stage is that many times the train run slowly and smoothly as it went its efforts to drive ascending and descending the hills, paving way to a lot of opportunities to photograph. I really don’t make a mistake to choose Jakarta – Bandung trip by train πŸ™‚

Cipularang Motorway, connecting Jakarta and Bandung, just side-by-side with the railway

Cipularang Motorway, connecting Jakarta and Bandung, just side-by-side with the railway

Cipularang Motorway  bridge - must be a huge headache courtesy of the designer and civil engineers responsible for this project to create this

Cipularang Motorway bridge – must be a huge headache courtesy of the designer and civil engineers responsible for this project to create this

I mostly took photos from the left side of Bandung - Jakarta train, but the right side also offering fantastic scenes as well

I mostly took photos from the left side of Bandung – Jakarta train, but the right side also offering fantastic scenes as well

(click the image to see larger size)

3. Jatiluhur – Purwakarta – Sadang – Cikampek
Lush rice fields and other farming mostly color the area in this chapter. As the watch in my mobile phone signing at afternoon tea time, sunshine in the sky helped me a lot to focus and record stills on country-side daily life. Examples like the farmers working on their fields, old man and woman walking down the narrow streets, kids playing in the open yard, people driving motorcycle carrying their harvest plants, local parties, mothers and kids sitting by the street watching trains pass by, village small and sleepy station, etc. Notice that there are more people to be seen from the train on this chapter rather than from Padalarang to Purwakarta previously

PART 1 : STUNNING VIEWS FROM JATILUHUR PLATEAU
(click the image to see larger size)
It is very hard to decide which picture I will put down on this article and which one will be resorted to picture gallery below, as most of the pictures I took on this chapter are wonderful even by mobile camera standard. Tou could see another pics from this chapter on the gallery under this article

A huge cliff and valley with a river cross in between... the train ran slowly at this moment, so I could easily get this picture

A huge cliff and valley with a river cross in between… the train ran slowly at this moment, so I could easily get this picture

The stunning views around Purwakarta - Jatiluhur - Sadang (4) - very beautiful rice fileds, I would love to walk for a long way through this place

The stunning views around Purwakarta – Jatiluhur – Sadang (4) – very beautiful rice fileds, I would love to walk for a long way through this place

The stunning views around Purwakarta - Jatiluhur - Sadang - it is just amazing to see railways touching the beautiful plateau beside

The stunning views around Purwakarta – Jatiluhur – Sadang – it is just amazing to see railways touching the beautiful plateau beside

PART 2 : COUNTRY LIFE IN AND AROUND PURWAKARTA – SADANG – JATILUHUR

This part emphasizes on people and houses.
(click the image to see larger size)

Country Life : country kids watched train passed by

Country Life : country kids watched train passed by

Country Life : a local party...this trip was on Sunday so there are many people held a party or going around

Country Life : a local party…this trip was on Sunday so there are many people held a party or going around

A village street

A village street

Country Life : The village residence with a mosque tower in the center

Country Life : The village residence with a mosque tower in the center

During this journey, we passed a lot of bridges which is quite frightening but also fascinating to see. I was lucky to able to capture one bridge very clearly as seen below

So lucky I could capture this still, a fantastic bridge that everyday 'receives' pressures from many trains but still 'stand strong'

So lucky I could capture this still, a fantastic bridge that everyday ‘receives’ pressures from many trains but still ‘stand strong’

How could I miss this one?  Unlucky I could not capture the view below the bridge...

How could I miss this one? Unlucky I could not capture the view below the bridge…

4. Cikampek – Karawang – Cikarang – Bekasi – Jakarta
The last chapter of my diary will cover the area near the North-shore of Java Island that spread distance from Karawang district up to the West direction to Jakarta.

Cikampek fly over - the train reach the North-coast of Java after leaving Purwakarta / Jatiluhur plateau and hills

Cikampek fly over – the train reach the North-coast of Java after leaving Purwakarta / Jatiluhur plateau and hills

Unfortunately I could not able to capture a lot as the train then had left the plateau of Jatiluhur and entering NOrth Java lowlands (in Indonesia it is very familiar with name Pantura – abbreviation of Pantai Utara Jawa / North Java coastline) which consequently make the train run faster than before. It draws a line with previous three chapter where I had fun with my mobile camera. You know you need excellent equipment to get better quality pictures on a high-speed train. In fact I deleted a lot of photos I tried to capture and preserved ones that are in great shape and ready to be displayed on my blog post.

Cikampek Railway Station

Cikampek Railway Station

Busy street in Karawang, too many motorcycles for my liking

Busy street in Karawang, too many motorcycles for my liking

Paddy fields mixed with industry and residence

Paddy fields mixed with industry and residence

Karawang lush and green rice fields - this Karawang district is famously known with huge size of rice fields, one of the major source of rice in Java  / Indonesia

Karawang lush and green rice fields – this Karawang district is famously known with huge size of rice fields, one of the major source of rice in Java / Indonesia

Old Bridge on the road between Karawang - Cikarang

Old Bridge on the road between Karawang – Cikarang

CAM00550

View on the left side of Karawang  - Bekasi railway

View on the left side of Karawang – Bekasi railway

Karawang city - very tightly-coupled houses, typical life in Java Island especially in  rural areas like North Java Coastline (Pantura)

Karawang city – very tightly-coupled houses, typical life in Java Island especially in rural areas like North Java Coastline (Pantura)

Cikarang busy streets - Cikarang is a new city between Jakarta / Bekasi and Karawang, it is full of industries

Cikarang busy streets – Cikarang is a new city between Jakarta / Bekasi and Karawang, it is full of industries

(click the image to see larger size)

Near the end of the journey, time on my mobile phone shows 12.02 AM. The train due to the first stop that is Bekasi city, a commuter city in the East of Jakarta.

Bekasi Station (2)

Bekasi Station (2)

Bekasi River (2)

Bekasi River (2)

After leaving Bekasi, now the train enter the DKI Jakarta territory as seen from photos below.

You can see the Busway (orange-red colored bus) over there, a famous public transport in Jakarta.. At this stage, the railways are side-by-side with I Gusti Ngurah Rai Street

You can see the Busway (orange-red colored bus) over there, a famous public transport in Jakarta.. At this stage, the railways are side-by-side with I Gusti Ngurah Rai Street

Industries in East Jakarta  area, close to Jakarta - Bekasi border

Industries in East Jakarta area, close to Jakarta – Bekasi border

My trip finally reached the end at Jatinegara Railway Station, a big station in east Jakarta. Time on my mobile phone show 12.59 PM, 3 hours and around 15 minutes total time journey from Bandung to Jakarta by train.

Jatinegara Railway Station, a big station in East Jakarta. I stopped here while the train was continuing the journey to Gambir Station in Central Jakarta

Jatinegara Railway Station, a big station in East Jakarta. I stopped here while the train was continuing the journey to Gambir Station in Central Jakarta

Actually the train will stop at Gambir Station, the major place for trains going and coming from outside Jakarta city, but I have to stop here. Thanks for watching my photos, I hope you enjoy. Cheers and I’ll show you my next trip travel photos

FULL PHOTO GALLERY FROM MY BANDUNG – JAKARTA TRAIN JOURNEY
I put these photos in time-based so the order start from Bandung until the train arrives in Jakarta. Please enjoy πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “My Diary : Tales from Train Journey Bandung – Jakarta / Naik Kereta Api Bandung – Jakarta

Leave a Reply

