My Diary – Short Train Journey from Maja – Rangkasbitung

I caught an economy train (kind of sleeper class in India train) for my departure from Maja to Rangkasbitung in Banten Province, Indonesia. The trip covered something like 30-km-distance (mostly flat with little hills one or two) and took about 40 minutes long. It was actually a sleeper train overall but as the economy ticket holder, I can only stand with other passengers in the corridor. Luckily, I can stand by the door facing the views in the flesh..

A view from Maja Railway Station

A view from Maja Railway Station

The train just left Maja Railway Station

The train just left Maja Railway Station

A short journey, but it truly reminded me so much of my Indian train experience with its hectic load of passengers and the similarity in shape (not color unfortunately, as dark blue and light blue are typical Indian train while Indonesian one used spark yellow and dark blue to cover the compartments). Hanging by a pole in the door, there isn’t a better opportunity to enjoy the green and refreshing nature of Banten province with the windy air coming through my face and body. Again, I did this 3 years ago during a train journey from Mumbai to Nagpur (Maharasthra India), hanging by the door all night long but with carrying many bags 😦

Okay enough sentiment, I’ll focus on this particular trip.
The weather could not be much perfect than it was, so what will it be without my camera. Here you could enjoy some pics from my train

Enter the green scenery

Enter the green scenery

In the first 10 km it was all about green paddy fields, farmer’s house and other farming area. With the sunny sunshine fall upon the beauty land, I have an easy day to capture those splendid views with one hand while the other one hanging on the pole by the train’s door. At this stage, I could see some local farmers and sand miners walking around these area. It was about 5 PM in the afternoon, so I think they just finished their work and going to get back home.

Green and lush paddy fields

Green and lush paddy fields

Green and lush paddy fields (2)

Green and lush paddy fields (2)

On the next 10 km, the views somehow alternate between low hills, mixed jungle, and some small local farming fields. It was a bit haunting as you can see from the pics below, because the distance between the trees and the side of the train very less than a throwing stone.

But honestly, this is more than meets the eye. The train was speedy, passengers filled up the train corridor up to the door, and the railway isn’t linear that the train always turned left or right gradually. That says, one need to be very careful when standing by the doorway because the train was shaky. And I did that with also taking pictures from my camera on my right hand. But I did it, and it was a piece of cake thing to me 🙂

The train and the jungle side by side (1)

The train and the jungle side by side (1)

The train and the jungle side by side (2)

The train and the jungle side by side (2)

On the speedy train, I could also capture some rivers luckily. A bit I felt nervous because from the door I could see how deep the river below my feet and how easy one could fall to the canyon. Although just some tiny rivers crossing the railway, but it completed my short journey trip which consist of local farms, houses, rivers, paddy fields, and jungles. Mountain is the only thing that left, but Northern and Central Banten Province aren’t known for highlands and mountains (unlike the Southern part).

Tiny river seen from the train doorway...imagine how I took this one :)

Tiny river seen from the train doorway…imagine how I took this one 🙂

River (2)

River (2)

With no stops between Maja and Rangkasbitung I could actually focus on the trip and the pictures. Soon after about 30 minutes, all those green fields and jungles contrasty turned into familiar houses and buildings with people staring by the railway, which marked that the train is arrived in Rangkasbitung city, my destination

Rangkasbitung houses

Rangkasbitung houses

Rangkasbitung houses (2)

Rangkasbitung houses (2)

Young kids stand by the railway, dangerous isn't it?

Young kids stand by the railway, dangerous isn’t it?

I can also see a wide street just about 10 meters from the railway.It looks yellow as the late afternoon sunshine is shining. The roads relatively sleepy, maybe because this is not a hectic city like around Jabodetabek. Still a nice variation of views on this trip.

Rangkasbitung Street (1)

Rangkasbitung Street (1)

Rangkasbitung Street (2)

Rangkasbitung Street (2)

A railway intersection...traditional Indonesian pole, red and white :)

A railway intersection…traditional Indonesian pole, red and white 🙂

Finally after about 40 minutes trip, the train arrived in Rangkasbitung. Refreshing to end the trip after taking so many cute images through the journey. The clock is on 5 PM amid the clear sunshine and blue sky.

Arrived in Rangkasbitung Station

Arrived in Rangkasbitung Station

There are a lot of passengers left the train, including me. A quite crowded but I expect this since this might be the easiest way return from Jakarta (the road from Jakarta to Rangkasbitung is quite far and there are a lot of traffic jams along the road). But somehow I surprised with how small the platforms are compared to the number of passenger. Need an expansion of course.

Passengers dropped off the train

Passengers dropped off the train

Old-fashioned front of Rangkasbitung Station

Old-fashioned front of Rangkasbitung Station

Whilst that train will continue the trip to Serang and Merak, I end my train journey and packing my bag to continue traveling in this Rangkasbitung city. Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoy 🙂

Rangkasbitung Station

Rangkasbitung Station

Me posing in Rangkasbitung Station

Me posing in Rangkasbitung Station

4 thoughts on “My Diary – Short Train Journey from Maja – Rangkasbitung

    • Terima kasih Melani. Pemandangan alam sepanjang rel Propinsi Banten emang banyak yg alami, lumayan menyegarkan. Usahakan dapat tempat duduk dekat jendela hehe. Enjoy your trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

