In my Oil Palm Plantation

I have a small but lush palm oil plantation in Padang Mahondang Village, Pulo Raja, Asahan, North Sumatra. I was inherited that plantation from the memory of my deceased grand father who was passed away in 2008. It is actually mixed up with my aunt’s and sister’s part which are in the same place.

102_6858

102_6855

It is located behind of my uncle’s house – which was also actually my deceased-grandfather’s house in where he was staying for the rest of his life. He and my entire father’s family were lived on this area for a quite long time after migrated from our home village in Sihotang, Samosir Island. As the area is now emerged as favorite place for plantation, it is becoming very crowd (in term of village degree)

Steps to our plantation, in the backyard of my grandfather's home

Steps to our plantation, in the backyard of my grandfather’s home

Palm oil seeds which are ready to be planted - u can see my grandfather's home in the forefront. here is in the backyard

Palm oil seeds which are ready to be planted – u can see my grandfather’s home in the forefront. here is in the backyard

I visit my plantation about a year ago with my uncle (my mother’s brother) and my mother from Medan by car. We have our uncle from my father’s family line keeping our plantation and manage to collect the harvest products.
Unfortunately volatile weather and virus took their tolls at some of the trees, that many of them became sick to death ultimately. THere is no time yet to recover them, so in the meantime we are going too reap what we can get. Hopefully someday later I could take some time to focus to bloom and raise our palm oil trees

A little canal become a natural border between ours and someone else's plantation

A little canal become a natural border between ours and someone else’s plantation

Both my uncles are doing some checks

Both my uncles are doing some checks

Posing

Posing

Leave a Reply

