My Top 10 : My Favorite Female Singers

TOP FEMALE SINGER
——————-
These are my favorite female singers. For the popular music, and the music categories are pop, rock, country, soul, and jazz.
I put them in order, start from the best (of course IMHO, feel free to say disagree with me.) Appreciate if you could save me your list too πŸ™‚

1. Celine Dion
celine dion
An angel from heaven. For my money, she can make a concert without any musical instrument, just herself and the sound system. She has an incredibly beautiful voice, very deep, outstanding range. Don’t lie that you have never heard the Titanic soundtrack. IMO her strong point is her articulation, she can do a storytelling by just singing the lyric to us. As I said above, I will pay 100 bucks to see her just with microphone.I vow that I must see her singing before I die.
Listen to : Immortality, My Heart Will Go Om

2. Adele
adele
A new sensation in modern music in the wake of such a pitiful music industry and constant singing contest waves. With quality, her voice can call tears to our eyes when singing song like “Someone Like You” or “Rolling in the Deep”. Her voice reminded me of 60’s vocalist like Shirley Easton or woman version of Frank Sinatra, but no questions to the ability she has. Powerful voice, the high range, sweet and soulful style, to me she comes the 2nd after Celine Dion.
Listen to : One and Only, Set the Fire to the Rain

3. Whitney Houston
whitney houston
Who on earth doesn’t know “I Will Always Love You” or “I Had Nothing”? I would argue with many people about not putting her on my #1 in place of Celine Dion, but she definitely Top3 best female singers in the world. She has a very beautiful voice and very controlled tone (compare to waving voice of Adele and Celine), no one can keep their eyes off of her on stage. Unluckily she can’t keep the same quality on her later years till she finally left us for good two years ago. Thanks for the voice, RIP Whitney Houston.
Listen to : I Will Always Love You

4.Beyonce
beyonce
Perhaps the best female singer in her generation, the millennium era. While I rarely very like her songs but it is her technical and incredible range of her voice, mixing of soul, R&B, and pop, that make her stand out of other young singers. She may not as gorgeous as Aguilera or Celine Dion but her voice is golden. There are still plenty of years for Beyonce to step up more and make Lady Gaga and Katy Perry finally thinking that they are not as great as they think.
Listen to : Halo, Crazy in Love

5. Mariah Carey
mariah carey
Another extraordinary singer that may bring me to argument with other people about why not putting her on #1 or at least #2. To me her special talent is her range. Maybe not as soulful and sweet as Adele or Celine Dion, but the power when she singing high notes can simply raise the hair on the back of the neck. Her pitch accuracy is also awesome. I pity her constant changing music favor, otherwise she could keep her legacy just like Celine Dion has done over the years and years.
Listen to : Hero, Open Arms

6. Dolores O’Brien
dolores o brien
Ex The Cranberries vocalist. When looking for someone who has distinct but beautiful voice, she is the singer. Her voice can come like an electric razor cutting the sky in “Zombie”, but she can also be soulful like in “Ode to the Family”. But the most unusual thing, she has such a strictly unique voice that we may will never hear from someone else, just like John Lennon’s voice.
Listen to : Zombie, Star

7. Marie Fredrickson
marie fredriksson
I always never like a female rock vocalist but this one. Hearing hits such ‘Joyride’ and ‘It Must have Been Love’ for the first time was like Wow! I love this singer. Her deliverance is still remaining in my ears up to this point even after 15 years gone from the first time I got the ‘Roxette – The Greatest Hits’ back in 1995. While credits also must be given to her partner Per Gessle for the songwriting and creating the catchy hooks and riffs, Marie’s performance is powerfully Rocking!
Listen to : It Must Have Been Love

8. Annie Lennox
annie lennox
I really love her big mature voice. I was first caught after hearing “Walking on Broken Glass”, that song really tied me up. Honestly I could not stand for a long time to listen to female voice, but Annie Lennox is one exception. I love her voice. For a modern music listeners she might not be that popular, but I bet you listen her and you will easily like her voice. Sometimes I consider her as the 2nd Celine Dion because they have the same voice style and colour, not to mention the similarity between their songs. If she is not a singer, I would like to suggest to her to become a military commander, her voice is perfect for that πŸ˜€
Listen to : Walking on a Broken Glass, Why

9. Agnetha Faltskog
agnetha faltskog
Remember ABBA? To me she is the most responsible person for such worldwide hits like “Knowing You Knowing Me”, “Mamma Mia”, “Dancing Queen”. Yes she may not on par with Carey or Houston in term of talent, but the razor edge of her crispy voice is perhaps everyone on planet earth from 70’s till today have ever heard , thanks to those wonderful ABBA hits (I bet so many people ever heard her singing may never know who is her name, so underrated :)). Very original voice, she can laugh or cry easily with the vocal style she practiced day by day.
Listen : Mamma Mia, Fernando

10. Gery Halliwell
geri halliwell
She has stunning baritone-tenor voice, so much power and passion. Both low and high voice she can perform very well. But it is the color of her voice that is big asset, no wonder why she sang so many songs about brave and optimistic, rarely girly poppy songs like Britney or even Madonna often sang. Oh yeah, her talent as a songwriter also must be counted.
Listen to : Look at Me, Spice Girls “Wannabe”

Leave a Reply

