Poori, My Most Favorite Indian Snack

If you ask an Indian what is one of the main dishes for breakfast in their incredible country?
The answer is Poori

Comes from the South Indian are, I believe it was slowly but sure become one of the Indian’s trademark cuisine. I can’t believe how they make it. This food, along with biriyani and Thali is very popular with foreigners and tourists. Many of us like it, as you can read at some of the reviews in some traveling journals or websites like Lonely Planet. I once saw the seller mixing the ingredients to become a small-medium size dough, and then it turned to become a pressed ball after entering the hot oil in the pan. It was only 10 seconds and then he raise them up, and finally..ready to eat. Hmm, I wonder if I could make business by cooking this thing, perhaps it will fail :D. I never try tough, maybe after coming back to my home country

I really love this Indian food. It is very simple yet delicious. The form is rather unique, a typical 10cm diameter, like a pressed ball with a huge space in the middle, and has a thin coverage. But the taste is awesome, eating it with potato curry and I don’t know why but I always forgive myself for forgetting the time when eating a lot of poories at one shot. Indian people usually eat around 2 or 4 pieces for their breakfast, but I can make the seller smiling by spending a lot of money for 8 pieces of Poori or more. Perhaps it is because the size of my stomach that requires a lot :-), but I give the credits to the amazingly pleasant-taste of this Indian snack.

Yeah, it is everyday I always enjoy Poori in the morning. Whether in the snack stalls on the street, the snack shop, or in the South Indian restaurant. And personally because of my fond of Poori, I can have a quite strange but nice relationship with most of the snack sellers in Bhubaneswar streets (strange because we exactly never exchanging words – language difference :-)), because they can usually recognize an alien who usually buy a lot of Poori at one visit.

This snack is become one of my reason why I can survive so long in this land of India 😀
Sure I will miss this thing badly after leaving India..

Leave a Reply

